Opening Hours

Castle Donington Surgery

Day Opening hours
Monday 24 June
8am to 6:30pm
Tuesday 25 June
8am to 6:30pm
Wednesday 26 June
8am to 6:30pm
Thursday 27 June
8am to 6:30pm
Friday 28 June
8am to 6:30pm
Saturday 29 June
Closed
Sunday 30 June
Closed

When We Are Closed

Call 999 in a medical or mental health emergency. This is when someone is seriously ill or injured and their life is at risk. Such as;

  • Chest pains
  • Sudden onset of shortness of breath
    Or deterioration from your usual breathing if you usually suffer from shortness of breath
  • Collapse or unconsciousness
  • Signs of a stroke; face drooping, unable to raise arm/arms, slurring speech, confusion, loosing balance
  • Severe bleeding / bleeding that can not be stopped
  • Choking

Not an emergency - Contact NHS 111 Either by telephone or visit NHS 111 Online, here you will be able to access screening questionnaires and immediate advice. NHS 111 online will signpost you to call NHS 111 if required.

 

NHS 111 Online

111 online is a fast and convenient alternative to the 111 phone service and provides an option for people who want to access 111 digitally. 

Your needs will be assessed and you will be given advice about whether you need:

  • Treat yourself at home
  • Go to a Primary Care Centre

If you need face to face medical attention you may be asked to attend a Primary Care Centre.

Click here to access NHS 111 online or call 111 to speak to a staff member.

Requesting prescriptions when we are closed

If the practice is closed, any prescription request received electronically will not be reviewed or actioned until the next working day. Please allow 2 working days for any request to be processed. This does not include time for a pharmacy to prepare your order. 

If you are in urgent need of your usual medication, and can not wait until we are open, your local pharmacy or NHS 111 will be able to issue you with an emergency supply.

Staff Training Closures (Protected Learning Time, PLT)

Protected Learning Time (PLT) sessions are provided for staff by the ICB. Primarily these sessions are aimed at GPs. GPs are often required to attend meetings and locality training events away from the surgery on PLT days.  This is why GP surgeries across North West Leicestershire close on the same afternoon. The ICB also provide sessions and training for admin and support staff.

When we are closed, we use the opportunity for staff meetings and internal training. Emergency clinical cover is provided by Derby Healthcare United. Our Phone lines will redirect you to this service. 

Please find below the planned dates when service will be reduced or we will be closed for the afternoon:

Wednesday 20th July 2022

Thursday 22nd September 2022

Wednesday 19th October 2022

Thursday 17th November 2022

Wednesday 21st December 2022

Thursday 26th January 2023

Wednesday 15th February 2023

Thursday 23rd March 2023